Alteryx Server Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Server.

'Tis the season to be spooky! Read our new blog, How Spooky is Your City? Mapping and Predicting Scary Stuff. In it, @SusanCS provides a fun glimpse into using data to figure out the creepy quotient of where you live! And don't forget to check out our Digital Costume Thread to get yourself in the mood for a candy binge!

SOLVED

Others may view this workflow's history

Highlighted
8 - Asteroid

In the Private Gallery, workflow setting - Does this setting "Others may view this workflow's history" refer to the version history or the run history of a workflow? I can't seem to find the official answer in the help docs.

Highlighted
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @chanmar,

 

The workflow setting - Does this setting "Others may view this workflow's history" refers to the run history of the workflow. 

the version history control is only visible for the  artisan who created the workflow

 

i hope this helps

 

best,

Vianney 

Best,
Vianney
Highlighted
Alteryx Certified Partner

Hi @VianneyM 

 

I don't believe this is accurate. The "Others may view this workflow's history." is to allow other users to see the previous versions, not the run history. The run history can only be shared with other artisans within the same private studio (subscription) and if the private studio has the option "Shared Schedules" enabled, which requires a Gallery Admin/Curator to enable.

 

jrgo_0-1577720543772.png

https://help.alteryx.com/20194/server/subscriptions-studios.

Highlighted
8 - Asteroid

Thanks! There seems to be conflicting answers, depending on who you ask. If there was a place in the Help docs about The "Others may view this workflow's history." option, that would probably be the definitive answer.

Highlighted
Alteryx
Alteryx

hi @jrgo and @chanmar,

 

Thanks for the correction. 

 

I made some tests within the Server, these are the results

 

Test 1:

Workflow (transactions) shared in a collection with a user that is a Member.

Workflow Settings: No - Others may view this workflow's history.

VianneyM_1-1579023525349.png

Results

 

User can't see the previous workflow versions

VianneyM_2-1579023635292.png

 

Test 2:

Workflow (transactions) shared in a collection with a user that is a Member.

Workflow Settings: Yes - Others may view this workflow's history.

VianneyM_4-1579023972762.png

 

Results:

User is able to see the previous workflow versions and download any of them (as this was specified as well within the Workflow settings)

 

VianneyM_0-1579023443134.png

 

So this means that the Workflow setting: Others may view this workflow's history  is to allow other users to see the previous versions.

@jrgo thank you for the clarification

 

Best,

Vianney

 

Best,
Vianney
Highlighted
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks for explanation @vianney @jrgo. 

 

To confirm the discussion :

Workflows run-history is not available to other users who access app which are shared via collection (i.e not part of same subscription studio) .