Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

.xslb file that contains data, but alteryx makes them [null]

thatsameguy
6 - Meteoroid

Hi guys, Im new to Alteryx, and have been having trouble with some .xslb files.

I have a column that contains data (ex: X33, X41, and 541) when i open it on excel, but when I import the file to alteryx it only appears "541", while the other ones appear [null]. I know that those fields are not nulls, but alteryx seems to have trouble reading the fields with X33, X41 and the other ones...

Can someone please help me?? When i import the fale as .xls it works perfectly, but i wanted to use .xslb files, since they are much smaller...

Evidence:

on excel: 2.PNG

on alteryx: 1.PNG

10 REPLIES 10
Sntrada
11 - Bolide

My guess would be that Alteryx is using the wrong data type for this column. Alteryx may be reading it as number when it should be string. 

That's my hunch. If you attached the actual Excel file we can see if this or something else is the issue. 

SubratDas5
10 - Fireball

Hi thesameguy,

You can check on @Sntrada's approach. 

Here is something else that i think might be of help to you . - https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer/working-with-xlsb-files-in-Alteryx/td-p/144950

Please share if you have success. 

SubratDas5
10 - Fireball
thatsameguy
6 - Meteoroid

unfortunately the excel contains sensitive data... But it comes as null the moment I import the file on Alteryx, so even if I set the column as a string it will still make those cells as nulls...

Sntrada
11 - Bolide

@thatsameguy 

I made a dummy file to look like yours and I was able to import it without those null issues. I tried it with the TpMove column as General and Number format, and it imported fine. 

For the import, I am simply dragging the file straight into the canvas. Designer is recognizing it as a .xslb

Sntrada_0-1597015432382.png