Alteryx Designer

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.

XML Parsing for Beginners

Highlighted
7 - Meteor

I'm somewhat new to Alteryx, and while my company has spent a lot of time looking at some very neat features, I wanted to get some kind of views / opinions on how well Alteryx could assist in improving some data processing / parsing.

Bullet points, for succinctness and clarity – hopefully:

·           My company – in one way, shape or form, has presence in over 120 countries

·           All of those countries are providing data (that can be read as XML) every second, of every minute, of every hour…you get the idea…

·           We take the messages and load them in to a database for reporting purposes – so data accuracy and completeness is a challenge.

·           The problem we have is that 120 markets are likely to be using a lot of different formats for constructing their messages.

·           My company uses an in-built ‘mapping application’ that tries unravelling the messages (as best as programmatically possible) so that we can load the right data elements in to the right database columns.

·           At this time, we use in-house developer dependent applications to assist us with the mapping problems / solutions.  

My first question is: would Alteryx be a potential good for replacing the existing mapping solution?  I suspect a not-insignificant amount of logic would need to be built in to any workflow developed.  It’ll also be working all the time.  Does anyone use Alteryx for this constant data processing purposes?

The reason I ask is that I want to see if we can achieve a number of things:   

Can we remove the 100% dependency on development resources to help us see and troubleshoot mapping problems by using Alteryx?