Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Why should use Alteryx? - A question from QlikView user

MizunashiSinayu
8 - Asteroid

Hello, I am pretty new to Alteryx.

Anyone using both Alteryx and QlikView?

For years, we've been using QlikView, and now a friend offered me to use Alteryx for data blending and predictive.

I wondered why I should use Alteryx?

QlikView has its own ETL engine and predictive analysis.

Just what is the benefit of Alteryx which QlikView does not have and mainly as a reason for me to get Alteryx to work together with QlikView?

Thanks in advance~

6 REPLIES 6
jdunkerley79
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

I don't know Qlik Views ETL specifically but I came to Alteryx from both programming and SQL Server Integration Services.

I used it in anger for two weeks and it changed how I thought about this kind of thing. At first, I thought ah good prototype tool that would let me work out ETL and process and then I could code it up. 

As I used it, I changed the way I thought about using it. I was able to involve buisness owner and respond within minutes to changes. Huge and very critical processes ended up being both easy to understand and very quick to run.

Nowadays, I find myself wanting to extend Alteryx and do more and more in it. I love picking up a challenge from the community and seeing what is possible. 

MizunashiSinayu
8 - Asteroid

May I answer my own question? After all, experience is the best teacher.

Qlik has its own ETL engine, but it is pretty much limited. Using Qlik we need to perform standard SQL queries to alter and transform the data, and it might not be so easy if the source data is full of garbage.