Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Using summary tool to summarize data

crtakacs
8 - Asteroid

This may be a fairly simple thing to do but I'm new to the summary tool and unsure how to create what I need. 

I have a workflow that dynamically pulls in owner numbers and creates different tabs with different views. One tab needs to show a view similar to what is in my data system that is summarized as shown below. The data is collapsed and summarized as shown, but when I pull in the data to my workflow I get the data as if it were expanded (over 2000 lines instead of the 9 line summary I'd like to see).

So I have a summary tool configured as shown below and it gives me 9 lines of data. But I'm not sure how to now take those 9 lines of data, and incorporate it back into my original data set, essentially telling my workflow to now summarize all my data, including all the columns from my data set view, based on the 9 unique summary identifiers that it found.

Data Set View.PNG

Workflow view.PNG

Summary view.PNG

4 REPLIES 4
wdavis
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @crtakacs 

You can do this in a couple of ways;

The first would be to use a join tool to bring together the Summarized data and then join based on a similar field in your full dataset. This will then bring the 9 rows of data onto your full dataset.

Or you could complete this all within the summarize tool. What are the other fields of data you will be appending to the 9 rows you have shown in your screenshot?

Regards

Will

rohanwaghere
7 - Meteor

>>But I'm not sure how to now take those 9 lines of data, and incorporate it back into my original data set, essentially telling my workflow to now >>summarize all my data, including all the columns from my data, set view, based on the 9 unique summary identifiers that it found.