Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Using Formula and If Statements

pmaguire011
5 - Atom

Hi,

I am very new to Alteryx and to be honest not the best at using formulas on excel. I am trying to write an If statement formula on Alteryx with multiple possible results. I.e If in the Column "Grade" we select "A1" then this new formula column will populate with "80", if we select "SA" then the cell populate with "190" etc. However when I have attempted this I am presented with the error message "Formula: invalid type in subtraction operator". Is this due to the fact that the grade field is currently set as data type "V String" and I want my new formula column to be numeric so I have set it as double, or is it an issue with how I have written the formula?

Here is the current formula I have created: 

IF [Grade] = "A1" THEN "80" ELSE IF [Grade] = "SA" THEN "190" ELSE IF [Grade] = "Contractor" THEN "34" ELSE IF [Grade] = "M" THEN "240" ELSE IF [Grade] - "SM" THEN "300" ELSE "?" ENDIF ENDIF ENDIF ENDIF ENDIF

Can anyone advise me as how to best sort this error? I require the output to be in numeric format.

Paul

8 REPLIES 8
JosephSerpis
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @pmaguire011 this syntax would work if your new column is a string field

IF [Grade] = "A1" THEN "80"

ELSEIF [Grade] = "SA" THEN "190"

ELSEIF [Grade] = "Contractor" THEN "34"

ELSEIF [Grade] = "M" THEN "240"

ELSEIF [Grade] - "SM" THEN "300"

ELSE "?"

ENDIF.

If you want a numeric field then the syntax should be 

IF [Grade] = "A1" THEN  80

ELSEIF [Grade] = "SA" THEN 190

ELSEIF [Grade] = "Contractor" THEN 34

ELSEIF [Grade] = "M" THEN 240

ELSEIF [Grade] - "SM" THEN 300

ELSE 0

ENDIF .