Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Subquery in alteryx Filter tool

VishalKhot
5 - Atom

Hi Guys,

I am trying to filter out data from my input tool on the basis of some condition.

If i have to explain it in SQL terminology then i want to use where clause with sub query.

Providing herewith screenshot for your reference.

There is on input data regarding rating where i want to take all the rating which are below B.

In SQL : select Rating from table where rank > (select rank from table where rating='B')

I search this type of question in community but was not able to find any ans to this.

Can i achieve this using Single Filter option? 

Sincere apologies if question seems stupid but i am new to alteryx and stuck in this section for pretty long time.

Thanks in advance.

VishalKhot_0-1590398377322.png

2 REPLIES 2
danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @VishalKhot 

If you break down what the SQL engine is doing in the background, you'd see a process similar to this

1. Find the record " where [rating]='B' " portion of the sub query,  

2. Select the [Rank] column

3. Compare this value to each of the rows in the outer query and return the ones where [Rank]> the result of step 2

Now, Alteryx is designed to work with flat tables very quickly.  The filter tools in Alteryx only have access to one row of data at a time.  There is no syntax that you can use to perform summary operations directly within a filter.  To perform the equivalent of sub query, you need to break it down similar the process that the SQL query engine uses internally

danilang_0-1590407451429.png