Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Outputting to a formatted excel template

tsch
5 - Atom

Hi All,

I am new to Alteryx so bare with me! I have no issues getting my data to a raw export (test dummy data attached below). The problem I am having after reading multiple threads is taking this data and outputting this data to a standard excel template by a specific field (in this case Broker #).  Ideal final state would be taking the raw file breaking it into separate sheets by broker number and applying the excel template that has already been built in Excel.

Is this possible? I've used the summation tool within Alteryx so the underlying data by Broker # does not appear to be an issue just more of getting the template to apply by each sheet.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

7 REPLIES 7
AbhilashR
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

@tsch - I have created a sample solution that creates multiple copies of your original template and pastes corresponding broker data into each template based on their NEW MBI id. The output tool is writing to a named range in excel I created called 'brokerOutput'

You could build on this foundation and write another batch script to merge back these individual templates if that is what you are looking for.

Would this get your closer to what you are looking to achieve?

You could also choose to use the Render tools and recreate the template file (with corresponding data) in Alteryx, but you may not be able to achieve your existing excel formatting as is. I chose my approach to only make it easy on myself to come up with something. 

Hope this helps.

tsch
5 - Atom