Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

No data coming through with Dynamic Input

rachcamp7
6 - Meteoroid

Hi there,

I am still new to Alteryx and so excuse me if my question seems juvenile.

I am trying to use the Directory and Dynamic Input tools to pull the most recent file every month to run in my workflow. I was about to use Directory > Sort (by creation date/descending) > Sample to 1st record > Dynamic Input.

Now, I don't know if I used the DI tool correctly.  I was a little confused with where I was supposed to point it, so I chose the file I'm trying to pull in (maybe this is where my problem comes in). It runs fine, but it is only pulling in the column headers and none of the data. I've attached for reference.

Thanks in advance for your help!

5 REPLIES 5
tcroberts
12 - Quasar

CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

For a new user, you're off to a great start by utilizing the Directory/Dynamic Input combo. 

What's causing your trouble is the "initialization" of the Dynamic Input tool. When I opened your workflow, it appears to have been configured on an ".xls" file. the file path ended in ".CSV.xls" (??) and the File Format below was set to ".xls" (automatically determined by the end of the file path. 

Change that example/initializing file to a .csv and make sure the file format is updated to .csv and this should work just fine. After that, the only thing you'll have to worry about is consistently named/formatted fields between files.

DynamicCSV.png

tcroberts
12 - Quasar

EDIT: See below answer, I completely missed the extension

rachcamp7
6 - Meteoroid

Thank you for your help. You were right and I hadn't noticed the file type/names. That seemed to work which is awesome, I just have one more issue.