Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Looping through a list, creating a separate report for each value

DanielBye
5 - Atom

I'm new to Alteryx and I think this is a simple question, but I'm just not seeing any answers in the knowledge base or elsewhere on the community pages.

I have two files, one is a list of "Org ID". The other file contains data, and one of the columns in the data is Org ID.

I need to pull the data from the second file and append it to an excel template for each "ORG ID" value.

I'm just looking for a simple example on how I would best do this.

I've looked at iterative, and batch macros, but I'm just not sure how they work, or if they are overly complex for what I'm trying to do in this case.

By the way, this is just made up sample data, in reality I will be pulling from a Teradata database.

I've got that part figured out. I was able to pull all the data, and export it to Excel.

I just can't seem to figure out how to loop through my ORG ID list and create a separate report for the data for each ORG ID

Any help would be much appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6
CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

There's a few ways you might produce separate reports depending on what you would like those reports to look like. Macros can be very helpful in processes like this (a batch macro would be appropriate here), but are not always necessary. 

I've attached a simple example that matches the Org_ID values from each input and outputs an Excel file with each Org_ID on its own sheet. This is achieved by the "Take File/Table Name From Field" feature of the Output tool. 

Let me know if this works for you, or if you're looking for something else in reporting. 

DanielBye
5 - Atom

Thanks CharlieS