Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Choose between two Excel inputs

eric-l
7 - Meteor

Hi,

I'm trying to find a simple way to select between two input files in my workflow.  The two files are identical except for time period.  One is "current" and the other is "month-end previous month."  I'd like to use the same workflow on each.  Sometimes I want the outputs based on today, and sometimes based on last month.  The file names and paths will be static.  Ideally, I'd just like to have a menu to select between the two inputs.  I'm sure this is possible, but I'm very new to Alteryx so I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks.

Eric

13 REPLIES 13
ivoller
12 - Quasar

There are a number of ways to achieve this, including User constants, Apps etc.

It sounds like your workflow would be well suited to an app that provides a dropdown to select the correct file for this run. I'll send an example when I get back to the office.

eric-l
7 - Meteor

That sounds good!  I look forward to seeing the example.  thx

ivoller
12 - Quasar

See attached for example. You can run this by hitting the wand symbol next to the run button. If you want to see the output from the browse you need to set the option in the Interface

Designer. This version is using the option to manually select the file names. There are many other approaches like File Browse, take input from Text etc. I hope it helps.

2018-08-07_12-05-13.png

neilgallen
12 - Quasar

@eric-l What are the conditions in which you decide which file to use? If it's predictible then a directory input / dynamic input tool combination may work based on your usage. ie.

In the middle of a month run "current" unless the date is the beginning of the month, else run month-end previous month, etc.