community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alteryx Designer Ideas

Share your Designer product ideas - we're listening!

Get rid of Original Column in Text to Columns

After using the Text to Columns tool, I generally find myself using a Select tool to get rid of the original field that I split up. Could an option be added in the config to automatically delete this field once it is split to columns?

4 Comments

This would be convenient

Asteroid

Yes please!  🙂

Alteryx Certified Partner
Alteryx Certified Partner

I like the idea @BarnesK, but I wonder if embedded selects make the process run slower (microscopically).  My observation is that selects create memory/disk versions of the data (depending upon amount of available memory).  I tend not to add too many selects in the workflows.  I do agree that this is a reasonable ask.

 

Cheers,

 

Mark

In addition to this maybe deselect the split fields that contain no data,