The Product Idea boards have gotten an update to better integrate them within our Product team's idea cycle! However this update does have a few unique behaviors, if you have any questions about them check out our FAQ.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Ideas

Share your Designer Desktop product ideas - we're listening!
Submitting an Idea?

Be sure to review our Idea Submission Guidelines for more information!

Submission Guidelines

Automatically update the 'Publish to Tableau Server' credentials in differing workflows

Hi, I'm new to Alteryx; we've had for just about a month. We started publishing our workflows to Tableau and it's working great.

One issue I foresee:

User credentials to the Tableau server are updated occasionally. When this occurs, I will have to update the credentials manually in each workflow. 

The number of workflows we are publishing is growing. Is there a way to automate this process? 

8 Comments
JCR
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Thanks for the feedback Kristi.

Yes, we're aware of the challenge this represents and actually looking into solutions to adress this for all connectors across the board. We'll update with the timeline when it's formally planned.

JCR
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)
Status changed to: Under Review

andrewdatakim
12 - Quasar
12 - Quasar

Depending on your configuration, if you are running these workflows locally @Kristi you can embed the credentials in a set of interface tools with the Publish to Tableau Server Macro. This will allow you to update the credentials once and will carry through to every workflow that is not saved as a packaged workflow. Let me know if you would like me to share how this works and I can post some screenshots. 

dfiderlein
5 - Atom