Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

pdf extraction

umairah
8 - Asteroid

Hello, I am a student and still learning to use Alteryx designer. I have a pdf file that I want to output as excel file and I already convert pdf file to yxdb file. My problem now is that I can't figure how to separate the country with all the data. I already filter all unnecessary sentences so I stuck at this part.

data extracted.png 

Any help is really appreciated and I will attach my workflow, yxdb and the pdf file. 

8 REPLIES 8
Emil_Kos
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi,

I believe you need to use regex functionality.

Maybe article below will be helpful for you:

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer-Discussions/How-to-parse-words-from-numbers/td-p/3...

PhilippK
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hi @umairah ,

ideally you use the Text Mining tools of the Intelligent Suite (add-on for the Alteryx Designer) to read in pdfs:

https://www.alteryx.com/products/alteryx-platform/intelligence-suite

However, this comes with a price. You could reach out to Alteryx for Good to check whether it is possible to get a free (trial) license as a student for the Intelligent Suite:

alteryxforgood@alteryx.com 

https://www.alteryx.com/why-alteryx/alteryx-for-good/students

Best regards

Phil

markcurry
12 - Quasar

Hi @umairah 

Two things that may help you...  Firstly, as @Emil_Kos mentioned you could use RegEx, you could add the RegEx tool to identify 2 or more spaces, and replace them with a |, and then use Text to Columns to separate on the |  (see attached).  Or you could use a more complicated RegEx statement to split each line properly.