Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

multi row formula with contains function

Kirstyp
8 - Asteroid
Hi, I'm fairly new to alteryx and have a query with my data set and multi row formula. I have some data showing a unique client ID and dates and placement type (long or short) into residential or nursing care. I have sorted my data by ID and start date. I am trying to identify if the placement started this year , was not concurrent from previous years/started previous years and the placement term contains long or the status contains long , this would be a new admission to long term care, however the client could have 2 admissions this year to care (like a change) but only one should be counted as new - can anyone help with the formula I need to try to Solve this.

Thanks in advance
7 REPLIES 7
SeanAdams
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey @Kirstyp

Easy way to crack through this one, is to mock up a table of inputs, and what you need on the output.

As you say, a multi-row tool could possibly help - or it may benefit from a generate rows tool.

Pop some sample data on the thread (even if it's mocked up data that demonstrates the problem that you're having) and we can crack through this quickly.

cheers

sean

Kirstyp
8 - Asteroid
Hi Sean

Apologies just realised that my attachment did not send earlier - this data
relates to the multi-row query I posted.

I have attached some example data and a end results tab of what i am trying
to get from the data - I haven't been able to achieve this in alteryx so
any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Kirsty
Kirstyp
8 - Asteroid

Hi Sean

Data now attached (hopefully)

Thanks again for your help.

SeanAdams
17 - Castor
17 - Castor
NicoleJohnson
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus