Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

joining tables dynamically

Mikis
8 - Asteroid

Hello everyone,

I'm trying to join two tables dynamically on a variable number of fields, so I built a batch macro that allows me to input 2 tables and a text string.

This text string is used in the macro to update the raw XML.

I'm new to this so I probably screwed it up (well obviously since it's not working), but I can't figure out what.

Could somebody please have a look why the batch macro is not outputting the right result? I attached the workflow that i got so far.

Huge thanks in advance,

Mikis

issueJoining.PNG

8 REPLIES 8
ddiesel
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @Mikis

I was going to take a stab at answering your question, but I get an error when trying to open the workflow.

There was an error opening "C:\Users\x\Downloads\flexible join question\joining via batch macro.yxmd":

This workflow was created by a more recent version of Alteryx, and may contain tools or functionality not present in this version. Alteryx does not support using an earlier version of Alteryx to open a workflow created with a newer version. For best results, download the latest version of Alteryx.

Do you still want to attempt to open the workflow?

I think I'm on the most recent version of Alteryx Designer: 11.7.4.37815. What version are you on?

CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

@ddiesel

The workflows were built in v2018.1. If you open the module and macro in a text editor like Notepad, you can just change the "2018.1" here to a lower version like "10.5" and it'll work in most cases where newer features are not used.

XMLVersionEdit.png

ddiesel
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

@CharlieS awesome tip! I'm in.

ddiesel
13 - Pulsar