Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

find the best office location given 3 choices for a group of employee

BosKev
8 - Asteroid

Hi All,

Have a location intelligence question as I'm fairly new to this type of questioning.

we have a group of employee(in different states near the office) looking to move/consolidate space , we want to move them to a new "best fit" office base on drive time/distance within one state in US.

what would be some good steps in alteryx to tackle this? I have calculated the distance /time between home and work for all 3 places. Want to know some of the options in ALteryx that will allow further analysis. 

Thanks,

-Kev

6 REPLIES 6
joshuaburkhow
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Hi @BosKev 

This is a great use case for the spatial tools. Question for you: are you looking to calculate the shortest overall distance across all employees, the shortest collective commute or what is your definition of "best fit"?

Joshua Burkhow - Alteryx Ace | Global Alteryx Architect @PwC | Blogger @ AlterTricks
BosKev
8 - Asteroid

I think the shortest commute collectively....they might want to fit the group into one location not multiple.

BosKev
8 - Asteroid

just want to add, I have the distance between the 3 offices to home and found the min(distance) for each employee to 1 of the 3 offices. How to I convey the optimal office for the group in a fair way?

BrandonB
Alteryx
Alteryx

You could use a summarize tool, group by office location, and average commute distance. Then you would see which location has the lowest average distance across all people. 

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @BosKev