Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Vlookup with true case similar to Excel

Shank
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

i am new to alteryx and I have two problems to be solved in it.

1. I am working on one of the report and i need to perform the Vlookup with true (which is used in excel) can some help on this?

below is an example. 

2. also, i need to roundup values how can i achieve that in alteryx?

ex: 2.342 to 2.3 and 4.677777 to 4.7 etc...

many thanks for your help

lookup Table:

LevelType
0L1
1.01L2
1.5L3
2.4L4

desired Result need:

LevelNameDepType
0.2AA1L1
0.3BA2L1
0.2CA1L1
0.1DA1L1
0.2EA2L1
0.1FA2L1
0.4GL1L1
0.4HL1L1
0.3IP1L1
0.6JSDL1
1.3KSDL2
1.6LFFL3

Regards,

Shashank

5 REPLIES 5
mceleavey
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @Shank,

I'm not entirely clear on what you're trying to do there, but given "Level" is the only commonality, have you tried simply joining the data on "Level" and taking the results of the J output?

Let me know if that's what you need or if there's something I'm missing.

M.

Bulien

Shank
8 - Asteroid

Hi @mceleavey

I need to perfom a volookup with approximate match condition and not the extact match (Which we have in excel).

can we perform the same in alteryx?

Regards,

Shashank

mceleavey
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @Shank,

Ok, I think what you're asking for is range matching. 

First, to round to a given number of decimal places, use the select tool, change the data type to "Fixed Decimal" and change the number after the decimal point to be the number of decimal places you want. for example, 19.6 to 19.1 if you only want one decimal place.

Second, to match to a range you can use a few methods. You can use a formula tool to say if it above x and below y then L1, for example, or you can generate rows.

I'll show you the second method.

I've opted to use a simple batch macro to create the range within each type, as follows: