Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Validating User Selected Input File

carl_steinhilber
8 - Asteroid

I'm relatively new to Alteryx, but a seasoned programmer.

I'm trying to build an Analytics App that allows the user to browse for an input data file, but I would like to validate that file before processing to ensure it contains the required fields.

Something like:

IF input data does not contain fields [Name, Address, Date] THEN error message ELSE continue

I discovered the Field Info tool, but I'm confused how I can check the Field Input dataset for the existence of the proper fields and then return to the original Input Data dataset to continue processing. I searched pretty extensively, but the results I've found thusfar have just confused me more.  :-o

Thanks in advance,

-Carl

15 REPLIES 15
tcroberts
12 - Quasar

I think you are looking for the Test Tool. You can have the input data branch off, and perform the test. If it fails it will raise an error. Perhaps add a "Block Until Done" on the main branch, so that the main branch will only run if there is no Error in the Test Tool.

Let me know if you need help configuring this,

Cheers!

carl_steinhilber
8 - Asteroid

Thank you for responding, tcroberts

I'm unsure how I would use the Block Until Done to wait for the Test tool, since the recordset that the Test Tool is testing is actually the Field Info... it isn't technically processing all rows of the Input Data. I'd love to learn how, if you have some pointers.

Thanks again!

tcroberts
12 - Quasar