Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Use single connection to insert into multiple tables

felipeecst
7 - Meteor

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Alteryx and I'm trying to build a simple importation workflow that will read data from several distinct worksheets and save each of them into a different table in the same database. 

What I am doing now is to set an Input Data Tool (to read the worksheet) and an Output Data Tool (to insert data into table) for each worksheet and configuring a new database connection for each one (the database is the same, but the tables are different). The problem with this approach is that if I need to change the database connection string, I would need to change every single Output Data tool. So, I wonder if there is a better approach for doing that.

Can anyone help me doing that?

Thanks in advance!

11 REPLIES 11
michael_treadwell
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

In order for the solution below to work, the data in each worksheet is going to need to be of a similar structure. Same column names, types, etc. If that is not the case, I believe this is still possible but it would require quite a bit more development and testing.

First, you would need to use the dynamic input tool to read all of the input worksheets.

Then, you could set up an input tool inside of a batch macro. Use interface tools to configure the connction string and have the control parameter be the tables to which you need to write.

bsharbo
11 - Bolide

Can I assume that the reason you need to change the database connection string is that you are first writing to at "DEV" or "UAT" database, and then you want to change the code so that it Points to a "production" database?