Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

(Urgent!!) Splitting Source (with Format) into Multiple Excel Files based on Column

zz10
5 - Atom

Hi all,

I'm really new to Alteryx and been facing difficulties in getting this to work. I would like to use Alteryx to split the source data into multiple excel files based on the column - Group ID. Thanks to the helpful sharing by the community, I was able to achieve that. However, I am unable to find any solution to retain the format (cell colours, conditional formatting, bold text, hidden column).

After searching the internet for hours, the only workaround I can find is using tools like Report, Table, Render. I was hoping there could be a more straightforward solution since the format and rules were already configured in the excel template. I'm wondering if the solutions below are even possible in first place?

1. Since I'm able to use Alteryx to split the source into multiple excel files, is there a way to "Copy" & "Paste as Values" in the formatted excel file and rename them?

2. Any way to split the source file into multiple files while retaining the format?

Please refer to the attached dummy file, Alteryx workflow (for split and rename as new file) and the desire outcome.

Hope to receive some guidance from everyone.

Thank you.

5 REPLIES 5
CarliE
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

hi @zz10 

Attached is a workbook that will get your desired outcome. Instead of using the normal output tool, i did some conditional formatting using the reporting tools.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Also, mark this as a solution if it solved your problem, so it could benefit others on the community!

Thanks,

Carli

Carli
zz10
5 - Atom

Hi @CarliE,

Thank you so much for the guidance!! You're a life saviour and it works perfectly for me! 

However, I still have some questions below on the formatting: