Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Unique value using RegEx formula not working

TapasDas
6 - Meteoroid

Hi,  

I am new to Alteryx and trying to find unique values in a particular column separated by comma.   While I used available Regex  formula for my case, I found two unique values are merged and reporting only one value.   Attached example..   Appreciate any help on this.

10 REPLIES 10
clmc9601
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @TapasDas,

Here is a solution that might be easier to understand than regex. If you have to use regex, it might not help. I hope it's helpful though!

Screen Shot 2021-03-06 at 10.31.09 AM.png

TapasDas
6 - Meteoroid

Hi ,

Thanks for your suggestion.

As the actual workflow and data files are pretty big with many rows, RegEx formula solution will be more suitable.

Regards,

Tapas

clmc9601
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @TapasDas,

How do you want to treat rows with multiple unique values? Do you want each unique value in a new row (like in my screenshot above), or do you want the unique values comma delimited in a single cell, or something else? This is helpful to know before building a regex solution. Thanks!

TapasDas
6 - Meteoroid

Hello clmc9601,

want the unique values comma delimited in a single cell.

Thanks for your help.

clmc9601
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @TapasDas,

This regex expression (which I adapted from an online forum) worked on the sample data on my end. I hope it helps with your full data!

REGEX_Replace([Mail],"([^,]+)(,[ ]*\1)+",'$1')

TapasDas
6 - Meteoroid

Hello,

It worked indeed! Thanks a lot for your help.

I wonder whether you can explain the working of the formula - particularly the adjustment logic you made. By that way I may be able to learn and can adjust in future situations.

Thanks a lot!

clmc9601
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @TapasDas,

Sure, here's a breakdown of the regex expression: