Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Unique records in multiple fields - need to return specific record based on conditions

TaniaC
7 - Meteor

Hi – hoping I can get some help here on something I am sure is very basic (but I am new to Alteryx Designer and just finding my way through).

I am trying to analyse large sets of training records, and in one step, I need to delete duplicates where a user has the same status multiple times for the same course. Should be easy, but the twist is I also need to ensure that – if the user has both “Complete” and “Incomplete” status, that only the “Complete” status flows through in the unique records.

I have managed to use the “Unique” tool to cull out all records where there are multiple cases of the same completion status (i.e. user 1 and course X has “complete” twice so I only take one record forwards) by looking for unique values across all three columns,  but if I take out the course ID from the unique tool, the result sometimes gives me the “Incomplete” record rather than the “Complete” record that I need.

I have tried sorting the records in an earlier step to make sure that the first record is the “Complete” one, but this hasn’t worked and the allocation of whether “Incomplete” or “Complete” flows through to the next step varies from person to person. There is obviously something else in there affecting the result but I don’t know what it is.

Any and all help to get me to the required outcome would be GREATLY appreciated. I am rapidly disappearing down the rabbit-hole of “trying everything I can think of and getting nowhere”!

(I am using Alteryx 2019.4 and have no opportunity to move to a later version (if there is one) as this is a work computer).