Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Unable to use [Engine.IterationNumber] to validate in a formula tool.

Suneeth
5 - Atom

Hi, 

I am new to Alteryx and learning to use "Iterative macro", Below is a simple iterative macro which generated 500 rows as new field then checking for the condition as shown below where in I am validating if the current new value is equal to [Engine.IterationNumber]+1 if true it should change the inputt field to [new] value. But in my case it is only working for 1st row and rest of the values are 9999. 

Suneeth_0-1614541569095.png

Would anyone please let me know what am I doing wrong here.

Also please let me know how can I assign [Engine.IterationNumber] to a column as shown below. (I have tried using formula tool and assign the value as [Engine.IterationNumber] but it only shows 0 for all lines)

inputt[Engine.IterationNumber](iteration value)

Attached is my macro file. Thanks in advance!

Regards,

Suneeth.

5 REPLIES 5
AngelosPachis
16 - Nebula

Hi @Suneeth ,

In order for your iterative macro to run and the engine iteration number to start counting, you should run the macro on a separate workflow. To do that, open a separate workflow tab, right-click on your canvas and select insert > macro > and select your macro ( you will see your macro there if the workflow of the macro is open in a separate tab. Otherwise you can click on browse and locate it wherever it's saved in your computer)

AngelosPachis_0-1614542898031.png