Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Transposing Data

PPNU
7 - Meteor

I have an excel template for various regions. I want to read it through Alteryx and store the data in database.

I'm new to Alteryx, so I feel difficulty how can a new columns would be created for region and last date updated from the data in template.

Secondly, I want data store in columnar structure , means category which is in row in excel would be in column against which data would be populated for the category to make it easy for filter data on category level.

Please find sample data attached here. 

Can somebody recommend something

Thanks in advance

7 REPLIES 7
OllieClarke
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @PPNU 

That wasn't the most straightforward challenge, but here's a workflow that does what you want (I think):

OllieClarke_0-1629133515055.png

as well as Cross-Tabs and Transpose tools, I also needed a multi-row formula tool and some Joins (along with an append field). 

I'd recommend checking out the learning resources available on the community Learning PathsInteractive Lessons and Weekly Challenges as well as the documentation/example workflows of the tools in Designer itself. Between those resources you should be flying in no time. 

Hope that helps,

Ollie

PPNU
7 - Meteor

Hello @OllieClarke ,

This is working fine with one of the sheets. I have different excel sheets for different regions, saved under one folder.

I want them  to process them together. So I made some changes in input tool but its taking data from one sheet only not from all.

PPNU_0-1629188419424.png

OllieClarke
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @PPNU