Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Tool to Edit Individual Cells

jmmart08
8 - Asteroid

Hi All,

I am very new to Alteryx.  I have built a flow (Thanks to the help of a user several months ago!) to compare multiple different spreadsheets in which the input date is all from different systems.  What I am stuck on now is finding a tool that will let me change actual cell data.  For Example, 1 of these systems uses a label of BARX while the other system uses a label of BRS.  I would like to edit the input sheet that uses BARX and change it to BRS in every single instance.  I have multiple label differences, so with the comparison workflow I've built I always have a difference because of the labels, but the data is the exact same.  To make it easier to read and only spot actual differences in the 2 datasets, I would like to change the labels with a tool if that is possible.

Hopefully I have explained this well enough.  Apologies in advance if I have not as again I am very, very new to Alteryx.

Thank you!

4 REPLIES 4
T_Willins
14 - Magnetar
14 - Magnetar

Hi @jmmart08,

Does "BARX" show up in a field?  If it does, it can be replaced using a Formula tool.  For instance, if it is in Field1, then in the Formula tool Select Column Field1, then use the following formula:  IF [Field1] = "BARX" THEN "BRS" ELSE [Field1] ENDIF

If this is not fitting your use case, please provide sample data and examples of what you are trying to do.  

jmmart08
8 - Asteroid

Hi T_Willins,