Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

To calculate the current day % increase in transaction volume vs. last 6 days in Alteryx

Sree_analytics
6 - Meteoroid

Hello everyone,

I am new to alteryx tool and trying to build a report which shows me the current day % increase in transaction volume compared to last 6 days.

Also, there is bifurcation by a 6 digit code and Merchant name. My data looks like the below:

Code    | Merchant Name | 4-Jul | 5-Jul | 6-Jul |7-Jul |8-Jul |9-Jul |10-Jul |% Increase

123456 | ABCD                 |  0     | 0       | 0       | 40    |  80   | 100  | 200   | sum(4 to 9th Jul volume)/ 10 Jul volume

% Increase i.e.(0+0+0+40+80+100)/200

Appreciate any help and if possible a sample workflow would be great.

9 REPLIES 9
BrandonB
Alteryx
Alteryx

You can use a multi-row tool here in order to reference rows above or below the current row being calculated. You will want to increase the number of rows to 6 in the configuration window and then you can create your formula that sums the last 6 days and then divides it by the current. 

Sree_analytics
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks Brandon for your response. Any possibility you can share a sample workflow as I am totally laymen to this tool.

Attaching some sample data.

Elias_Nordlinder
11 - Bolide

Hello @Sree_analytics ,

(Edit, forgot -1 in the formula to see increase)

I can try to chime in on this, I have attached a workflow as well 🙂
This is how the workflow is running:

1. You have to use the Transpose tool first to get all the values in the same row, that is the starting point for using the Multi-Row formula in a later phase.

2. I used the Cleansing tool in between to change Null to 0 to be able to work with the multi-row formula tool.