Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

The field "XXX" was renamed conflicting with an existing field name

e_mariee
6 - Meteoroid

I am running a workflow to format my inputs. However, I get this error (The field "XXX" was renamed conflicting with an existing field name). What does this mean? The specific field it is referring too is not duplicated nor empty. I am not sure why it is not capturing this specific field?

10 REPLIES 10
atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @e_mariee 

Check your select tool renames there is a possibility that you have renamed a column when another column with the same name exists.

Hope this helps : )

e_mariee
6 - Meteoroid

Hi @atcodedog05     

That is weird cause I don't have any renames and that field is not duplicated. However, how come that specific field is duplicated within my join tool and in yellow? 

Sorry, I am new with Alteryx, so I am trying to understand what is causing it.

atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @e_mariee 

If its yellow that means its a rename. Column names needs to be unique hence rename is done to keep them unique.

atcodedog05_0-1632503321692.png

Hope this helps : )

e_mariee
6 - Meteoroid

Hi @atcodedog05 

I see, but mine is like the whole row is in yellow text, and duplicated in two rows. 

e_mariee_0-1632503549407.png

atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @e_mariee 

These denote missing columns. Means the columns were initially there now its not there.

e_mariee
6 - Meteoroid

How could I bring it back? because before my join tool, that specific column is part of my field, and now I am not sure how it is showing as missing, as I needed that column too.

Maskell_Rascal
13 - Pulsar

Hi @e_mariee 

Can you provide one bit of clarifying information for us? What is the tool that is throwing this warning? The results window should list the tool in question. 

Maskell_Rascal_0-1632503855194.png