Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Test for same distribution

jcalvo92
7 - Meteor

Hi, newbie here

Is there an easy way with Alteryx to check if two numeric variables follow the same distribution?

Thanks,

Javi

4 REPLIES 4
SydneyF
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hi @jcalvo92,

Have you looked into the Distribution Analysis tool at all? It wouldn't directly compare your two variables, but you could test distributions for each variable to determine if the distribution each variable fits most closely is the same. Another option would be to visibly compare your variables using the Histogram tool or the Violin Plot tool. If you're interested in seeing if the variables are correlated with one another, check out the Association Analysis tool.

Note that all of these tools are a part of the Data Investigation tool category and require the predictive tools to be installed. 

Hope this helps! Please let me know if you have any further questions I might be able to assist you with!

Sydney

jcalvo92
7 - Meteor

Hi Sydney, thank you very much for your help!

The Distribution Analysis tool would work only for the 4 distributions provided there. And the Histogram or the Violin Plot can give me a 'feeling' of wether the variables' distribution / shape may be similar. I am looking for some statistic test to create an official procedure, something like 'run this tool and if the result is bigger than X then you may consider the two variables follow the same distribution'.