Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Switching between input files

pr0blem
5 - Atom

Hello!

I am rather new to alteryx and I am struggling with seemingly easy task. 

I have an internal tool which generates reports that have fixed structure: excel format, 8 sheets with different fields layout.   

My purpose is to create workflow where I would take data from 3 of those sheets, apply some calculations and consolidate them into the short summary. Everything works fine except switching between inputs. 

As I need data from three sheets, I need to "click through" 3 "Data input" buttons and choose the same file three times (with different sheets). 

Is there any way to simplify this?

Assumptions: 

- I would like it to be a small tool where I just load fresh report > click play > close 

- structure of the excel file is always the same including sheet names, therefore it would be nice to have those names somehow "hardcoded" into the workflow 

Thank you in advance! 

Best,

Dan

4 REPLIES 4
Claje
14 - Magnetar

Hi,

Depending on how complex you feel like going, here's a few suggestions.

If each of your three sheets has different field layouts, you will likely benefit from having 3 unique Data Input tools.

Based roughly on the example you gave below, you could do this a few different ways.

If your file names are different but the sheet names are the same, you could use a wildcard character (In Alteryx this is an asterisk *) for the piece of the filename that changes.  That way, if the new file is the only one in your source folder with that name, it will be read in automatically with no changes needed.