Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Summing records based on Start and End Date

cireost
8 - Asteroid

Hi - I am fairly new to Alteryx.  I have the following fields: Tenant name, Start Date, End Date, and Payment.  My inputs are: Tenant Name, Start Date, and End Date and output is Payment.

I am trying to find a tool or write a formula that will add each row in Payment beginning on Start Date and ending on End Date.

Please see example attached.

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
tcroberts
12 - Quasar

You probably want an Analytic App with inputs for Start and End Dates that will update a filter. Here's a sample workflow:

sumbasedondate.PNG

You could add further inputs to filter the Tenants as well, or whatever else you need.

Let me know if this helps, 

Cheers!

ponraj
13 - Pulsar

Here is the sample workflow for your case. Hope this is helpful.  I dont see any input entry for payment. Hence, I kept it blank and did not do any sum. 

WorkflowWorkflowResultsResults

cireost
8 - Asteroid

@tcroberts wrote:

You probably want an Analytic App with inputs for Start and End Dates that will update a filter. Here's a sample workflow:

sumbasedondate.PNG

You could add further inputs to filter the Tenants as well, or whatever else you need.

Let me know if this helps, 

Cheers!

Thanks for the quick response!  Unfortunately, I cannot open the workflow as I have an older version Alteryx.  However, based on the screenshots, I understand what you did.  Is there another solution without using an Analytic App to update the filter?  The Tenant Name, Start and End dates inputs will come from another table.

tcroberts
12 - Quasar