Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Subtracting two files with large datasets

vizwiz1
5 - Atom

Hello Community,

I am fairly new to Alteryx and am having a hard time figuring out a problem.

I have 2 files (csv):

Total File sample (File A)- This file has all the items in a system (a superset if you will) (100M rows)

Failed items (File B)- This file has all the failed items which did not enter the system (300,000 rows)

Now, I want to get the passed items, which are the ones which are not in File B, but in File A (essentially A-B).

Also, I want to add a column which says if the item Passed/Failed to ultimately calculate the pass %.

How would I get one file with all the items and a column which mentions if an item passed/failed on a particular date?

Any help is much appreciated.

I have attached the 2 sample files 

6 REPLIES 6
MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@vizwiz1,

Here's a starter workflow to help you.

Cheers,

Mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and restart. Order shall return.
Please Subscribe to my youTube channel.
LordNeilLord
15 - Aurora

Hey @vizwiz1

A join tool will do this perfectly....anything from the left will be a "pass" (they only appear in the Total file)...Anything from the join will be fails (they appear in both Total and Fail)...here's an example..

PassFail.PNG

@LordNeilLord

Part time Tableau, Part Time Alteryx. Full Time Awesome

Data Lover

vizwiz1
5 - Atom

Thanks LordNeilLord !

As i mentioned I am joining csv files with a large number of rows (about 100M).

I followed the process mentioned, but I have some questions: