Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Submit data via an app

muns
7 - Meteor

Hi - I am new to Alteryx so please forgive the broad conceptual question.

I am wondering if the following existing process (done in excel) could be done via Alteryx (perhaps with an app?):

- create and populate multiple excel files

- send excel files via email to users

- users amend data and return via email 

- users amendments are then updated manually into a master file

- analyse difference between original data and amended data

My main query is whether an app could allow the users to input their amendments and then submit?

I'm aware that Alteryx can output to excel and email files but I would like to remove the need to go outside of the system if possible.

Many thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
GiuseppeC
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @muns,

this is definitely achievable!

Without overcomplicating the solution unnecessarily, you could set up the following:

App1 - for your users to be able to get your Excel files:

- create and populate multiple excel files (through an Alteryx workflow)

- send excel files via email to users  publish App1 on Alteryx Server. User connects to Gallery through a web browser, runs your app and downloads the Excel files.

App2: for your users to be able to return amended files to you

- users amend data and return via email  user uploads amended files on App2

- users amendments are then updated manually into a master file: can this be replaced by an automated Alteryx workflow? Could be part of App2 or separate workflows triggered by App2

- analyse difference between original data and amended data: same as above

Hope this helps, but feel free to post more details if you want to dig deeper into this.