Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Struggling with regex expression

jw68937
8 - Asteroid

Hi everyone,

I've got an SAP report field with column headers in it that I'm trying to delineate out, seems like regex would be best for this but I'm a newbie and struggling with it. I color coded each set of intended marked groups, there is at least one space between each group (with some having more) and I also want to get rid of the pipes "|", anyone willing to help here? :) 

| CoCd G/L acct Short Text Crcy BusA Balance Carryforward Balance,prev.periods Debit rept.period Credit report per. Accumulated balance|

2022-05-26_13-03-23.png

Thanks so much!

Jennifer

7 REPLIES 7
DataNath
17 - Castor

Hi @jw68937, is it only this field? Or are there more rows with different combinations/formats? If it's just the one, then the following should do the trick:

\s(\w+)\s(G\/L\sacct)\s(\w+\s\w+)\s(\w+\s\w+)\s(\w+\s\w+)\s([A-Za-z,\.]+)\s(\w+)\s([a-z\.]+)\s(\w+\s\w+\s\w+\.)\s(\w+\s\w+)

Not the prettiest but works for your example. Let me know if you have any issues! Workbook also attached.

DataNath_0-1653592349303.png

ChrisTX
15 - Aurora

Unless you resort to hard-coding for the specific example you provided, I don't think you'll be able to split out text like that.  There doesn't seem to be a pattern you can clearly define.

If you know the exact field names, and you just have one example, you could just hard-code the field names and avoid regex.  I'm guessing you have more examples.  But maybe not.

Whoever designs report output like that, using a space as a field name delimiter while knowing that some field names include spaces, should then have to work with that output further downstream.  Would be a valuable lesson to NOT design something like that.

Chris

jw68937
8 - Asteroid

Hi there,