community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.

Simulation Sampling connections do not work. Help!

I am new to Alteryx. I created two Simulation Sampling nodes and connect the first node's data output (D) to feed into the second code's input (S). Based on the documentation here https://help.alteryx.com/11.7/index.htm#cshid=Sim_Sampling.htm, it is supposed to combine the two simulation results together, but for some reason it does not combine them. Note that  I set both nodes' sampling method to parametrically. Could anyone help me understand why?

Alteryx
Alteryx

Hello @gentdirga,

I think I see the problem you are running into. It sounds like you have your workflow set up like this:

0 - Simulation Sampling.PNG

Selecting the parametric sampling option will generate a new sample of data from scratch based on the parameters you enter (distribution, mean, standard deviation, upper bound, lower bound, and the name of the outgoing data). Since the parametric option produces a new sample of data, the output from Simulation 2 will be the same whether Simulation 1 is connected to the S input or not. (This is shown in the attached workflow)

1 - Simulation Sampling.PNG

It sounds like your desired output would include 2 separate fields (one from each simulation). If this is the case, you probably want to use a Join tool. You can insert a record ID tool to help with the join process (this is also shown in the attached workflow).

2 - Simulation Sampling.PNG

It is also worth noting that there is a very useful workflow you can use to help get familiar with the simulation tools located in designer: Help => Sample Workflows => Prescriptive => 6 Simulation. (if you haven't already found it).

Let me know if you have any other questions!

Hoss Carroll
Customer Support Engineer
Alteryx

Thank you HossC for the solution!