Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Select a file to process - Macro build

jdelaguila
8 - Asteroid

I'm attempting to build a standard macro that allows you to choose what file you want to process, from a certain folder, right at the beginning. Attached is my failed attempt at doing this. 

Can anyone shed some insight on what i am doing wrong?  Side note - i'm just starting to learn macros so i'm a begginer.

Javier 

6 REPLIES 6
RishiK
Alteryx
Alteryx

@jdelaguila I have modified your macro slightly to include a Macro Output. This allows the user to use the Macro at the start of their workflow, and it forms an anchor as per the Screenshot:

RishiK_0-1624483974389.png

Were you trying to replicate something like this?

jdelaguila
8 - Asteroid

Yes, this is closer - but now I'm getting an error message (see below).

Since I'm using a Directory Input - would this be causing the error? I tried using a "Input Data" tool in the Macro instead - but it kept pointing me to the same file I chose in the macro.

End goal is - I'm trying to get the macro to process whatever file I choose in the "Interface File Browse" tool.

Thanks for any further help anyone else can provide!  Javier

jdelaguila_0-1624507575641.png

apathetichell
18 - Pollux

2021-06-23 (7).png

2021-06-23 (8).png