Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Search for matching name in another column and seperate the data found

hchepyal
6 - Meteoroid

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie to Alteryx Designer. I have a question regarding the data matching. For Example

Let us say I have two tables

GetRequest

SourceDestinationDescription
hostDevice_1GetRequest
hostDevice_2GetRequest
hostDevice_3GetRequest
hostDevice_4GetRequest

GetResponse

SourceDestinationDescription
Device_2hostGetResponse
Device_1hostGetResponse
Device_4hostGetResponse

I want to know what devices are sending the 'GetResponse' after sending the 'GetRequest' and seperate the devices that are not sending.

Please let me know if you have a possible solution

Thanks

Hari 

8 REPLIES 8
MattBSlalom
11 - Bolide

If I understand you correctly, you're looking for the Join tool.  It takes to datasets as inputs and then you configure what fields between them should be the keys used to lookup between them.

In your case, the configuration would be "Source" from "GetRequest" dataset is equal to "Destination" from "GetRepose" dataset, and as a second condition, "Destination" from "GetRequest" dataset is equal to "Source" from "GetRepose" dataset.

From Join tool Help (Join Tool | Alteryx Help😞

The 3 outputs that result from the join are...

L anchorContains records from the L input that didn't join to records from the R input.
J anchorContains records that joined from the L input to the records in the R input.
R anchorContains records from the R input that didn't join to records from the L input.