Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Schedule workflow on Company Gallery with shared folder file input

Verenala4
8 - Asteroid

So my question might be very specific but I thought it was worth asking.

I have a workflow that takes its input from a variety of excel files with multiple files that are hosted on the shared drive folder of my company. The actual workflow works perfectly fine.

I would now like to schedule it to run once a day (on my company's Gallery) but when I tried to do this, it gives me an error. This is my first time trying to schedule a workflow.

It says: "Invalid Directory "Path...\Sample\UserForm\*.xlsm": The system cannot find the path specified. (3) (Tool Id: 1)"

The start of the workflow (see below) is set up with the directory and dynamic input tools.

Capture.PNG

Where do the input files have to be stored for this scheduled workflow to work and is there a way to have them on a shared drive?

I hope this makes sense.

Thank you,

V

8 REPLIES 8
MichalM
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @Verenala4 

There are could of things to consider here. When a workflow is scheduled on the Gallery, you can think of it as sharing a copy of the workflow with one of your colleagues

• Can they access the shared drive (is there connectivity between the server environment and the shared drive)?
  • Do they have access to the shared drive (does the user who executes the workflow on the server have access)?
  • Can the user resolve the path to the directory - in this scenario I'd recommend using a UNC path to the folder location which can be resolved by any user 

From what I can see, it's most likely the last point causing the error. 

Verenala4
8 - Asteroid

Hi!

Thank you for your reply.

• Everyone on my team has access to the shared drive