Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Save to a user designated output

Bwink88
5 - Atom

This is my first attempt at building an Alteryx workflow, so I'm sure I'm missing something simple, but I am trying to set the workflow to output to the folder designated by the user at the beginning of the workflow. I tried using a wildcard in the output file and I couldn't get it to work. There are four separate outputs that are all saving a separate tab to the same file. I am away from my computer at the moment, but when I get back I can post some screenshots.

5 REPLIES 5
danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @Bwink88 

The macro you posted requires some custom macros, XLSX_SheetReader.yxmc and XLSX_FolderImport.yxmc as well as a couple of excel files to function.  Without these missing components, it will be very difficult help you with the problem you're having.  If you go to Options->Export Workflow, Alteryx will create a package that includes all theses dependencies.  You can then attach the package.  If the input excel files contain sensitive data, please create a sanitized sample version before including it in the package.

Dan

Bwink88
5 - Atom

Thanks for letting me know about setting up the package, I have set up the package with a couple of mock Excel versions of the original files.

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

hi @Bwink88 

The .xlsx file didn't get bundled in the package, but I think I have enough to fix the issues. 

The first issue was that the Directory tool returns a directory path without any file name, so you can't use this to directly modify the path in the Output tool.  The second was that the Action tool wasn't configured to modify the correct value.

BadAction.png