Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Run same workflow with inputs from different tab in an excel

E_Liang
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Experts,

I am new to Alteryx.  I am working on a workflow where I have multiple mapping table centrally stored in an excel (e.g. one mapping in one tab).  These mapping tables are similar in nature but with different numbers of columns, and I would like to process them with the same set of tasks and macro (e.g. run mapping1 first with the workflow, and then run mapping 2 with the same workflow, etc). 

Instead of copying the same workflow multiple times, I would like to tap to everyone's expertise to make it more streamline. Appreciate your help.

thank you.

E.

MAPPING.xlsx.jpgMapping_Sample.yxmc_.jpg

7 REPLIES 7
JoeS
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @E_Liang,

As it looks like you are comfortable in making a batch macro, that would be my recommendation for this task you are looking to complete.

If you convert the process you have shown below into a batch macro and as the control parameter pass through the sheet name and then update that within the Input tool.

You can then use this batch macro in a separate workflow and pass through all the sheet names you need to process.

I hope that helps.

Thanks

Joe

E_Liang
6 - Meteoroid

hi Joe,

Thank you for the valuable advice. 

I have tried to package my original workflow as a batch macro.  And since control parameter could not be place directly to an macro input, I have added a dynamic input.  Also, I have tried created a separate workflow to call this batch macro, but it returns with an error in my dynamic input, not sure what I have done wrong. Appreciate your further assistant.

Thank you very much

E