Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Run different workflows depending on the excel sheet name

Jmarquez
7 - Meteor

hello everyone, I am quite new to creating apps and would appreciate some help.

I am trying to create an app that will be shared within my and whose output will feed a dashboard every month.

the workflow will be fed from two excel files, both with different tabs and structures. But always with the same name for the tabs.

The idea is to create an interface where the app user selects the excel files and depending on the tab name it filters to run one workflow or another and the results are saved in the same excel output but in different tabs.

I have managed to do this when designing the workflows by adding each tab as a different input, but I am not able to make this selection  done automatically from the file that the user selects.

I attach an image of the workflow so far.

sample wf.png

thanks in advance.

4 REPLIES 4
MattBSlalom
11 - Bolide

I think I understand that the driving variable will be the Sheet name, not the File Name, right?

I would tackle this by splitting your current App workflow into 2 macros (one per Excel sheet).  Then, create a parent App workflow that handles your Excel selection Interface tool, reads the Sheet names of the selected file, then uses a Filter tool to pass the Excel path to the appropriate macro.

Sample parent App workflow:

MattBSlalom_0-1618263271391.png

Child Macros setup to use Dynamic Input that's fed the file path from the Macro Input (passed from the Parent App above) instead of your current Interface tools (obviously yours will consist of all your other logic instead of just a Browse tool):

MattBSlalom_1-1618263462548.png

Jmarquez