Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Run Command Configuration

kylemhabe
8 - Asteroid

Hello. This is my first time using the run command tool and I am having trouble with the configuration.

I am trying to use the run command tool to use the command prompt to copy a file and rename it so that I can output my the data from my workflow to the renamed file. 

I tested my code in the command prompt and it works as I would want:

copy "C:\Users\Mapping for Alteryx\test.xlsx" "C:\Users\Mapping for Alteryx\test2.xlsx" && rename "C:\Users\Mapping for Alteryx\test2.xlsx" "test5.xlsx"

I'm having trouble configuring the run command tool to successfully run this command when I run my workflow. The tool has no incoming or outgoing connections.

Thanks,

Kyle

4 REPLIES 4
MinaGO3
8 - Asteroid

Currently you have to either configure a write or read source to use the run command tool.
See here: https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer-Discussions/Run-command-tool-questions/td-p/185613

It is also worth looking at running the script from a file versus within the command.2 configs.png

benakesh
12 - Quasar

Hi @kylemhabe ,

The run command tool  requires  write source and/or  read results  configured. 

In this example  we  write  source  i.e  build  batch file  .  

The configuration of batch file  is important  :  no delimiters (\0)  , quotes: never  . 

rc1.PNG

If there are errors  check  rc.bat   to make sure you can run it from command line .

The sample wf  writes  to rc.bat  and then  runs rc.bat .   I am using echo for testing and  any commands should work .

kylemhabe
8 - Asteroid

Thank you both so much for taking the time!

I used both of your responses in coming up with my working solution. This will be a huge help in my current and future workflows.

Best,

Kyle

Shaina1
8 - Asteroid