Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Replicating Excel WORKDAY Function in Alteryx - feel free to use it if useful

IPWE
5 - Atom

So I'm quite new in Alteryx and been moving reports from manual tools (access/Excel) to Alteryx. 

Just realized that there is no function in Alteryx to easily calculate x amount of working days from a starting date (e.g. 28th Oct 2016 + 2 days = 1st of October 2016) so decided to write my own one (unless there is one in that case I wasted an hour of my time for this).

Then I found out that I can’t do while loops (Like I said, new in Alteryx), so I managed to do one without a while loop, 

The basic of the formula is this:

Start Date + (Floor( ((Daysof Week+DaysToAdd)-1/5)*2) + DaysToAdd = end date

If the Start Date is Sat/Sun then start from previous Friday.

Feel free to use it if you guys think it is useful.

13 REPLIES 13
dataMack
12 - Quasar

The problem with 'workdays' is that they tend to have some specificty to your geographic region and even your specific company.  I'm in the US and work for a bank, so there are about a dozen weekdays throughout they year that shouldn't get counted as 'workdays' if I was building something like an analytics process to track projects.

I would consider inputting a calendar datasource (make your own in excel if you have to, then input it to Alteryx) that had full identification of each day as a workday or not and then you could blend that and use it for a more precise calculation.

IPWE
5 - Atom

The problem is that I am trying to port alot of manual reporting to Alteryx. And some of them use Workday. I was trying to find the best way without the use of a lookup table outside the public holiday calculation.