Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Replace Values using Formula Tool with Multiple Conditions

lp_hall
8 - Asteroid

Hello,

I'm still very new to Alteryx and have been tasked with taking 2 report outputs, "CompanyA_SampleData" and "CompanyB_SampleData", and merging them with an Excel file that will be used for a Tableau dashboard, "CompanyAB_TableauData".

So far, I have created a workflow that merges the 2 report outputs together with the Tableau Excel file, however now I am trying to figure out how to replace a value in one field, "AHT", with values in another field, "AHT_Calc", only for the select month/year that the 2 report outputs were run for, and based on multiple conditions.

I am currently attempting to accomplish this with a formula tool with an IF statement with multiple conditions. This occurs on step 15. Take a look at the sample code below:

IF CONTAINS([Year],"2021")
AND CONTAINS([Month1],"4")
AND CONTAINS([Call Queue Code],"5000")
THEN [AHT_Calc]
ELSE [AHT]
ENDIF

I want to check for 3 things: Year, Month1, and Call Queue Code fields. If all 3 meet the preferred conditions, I would like to take the value in the AHT_Calc field and move it over to the AHT field.

It is worth noting that the Year and Month1 fields are dependent on the user's selection using a combination of Drop Down and Action Tools found in steps 10, 13, and 15. The inputs from 10 and 13 feed into 15 as well.

Coming from an Excel background, this can be treated as a VLOOKUP but with multiple conditions. With the added complexity of the Drop Down and Action Tools as well as this being a completely new platform to work from, I am having a hard time figuring out how to solve this. There is likely a much easier way to do this - I simply haven't had enough experience to know how to do this any better.