Alteryx Designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.
The Expert Exam is now live online! Read about the specifics and what it took to bring it to life in the blog by our very own Elizabeth Bonnell!

Renaming headers using dynamic rename tool

Highlighted
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Team,

I'm an alteryx beginner. I'm facing a problem with renaming my headers. 

Consider this sample excel report layout-

Primary IdOwner IdType
NameAccountData Type    
John SmithRegionalA10011001Class A
Jane DoeGlobalB1002131Class B
John DoeRegionalB1003435Class A

I am trying to get the header name for my data but the issues I'm facing are-

• Header names are given in 2 different rows instead of first row only. Wherever the header name in given in the second row, the respective column is blank in first row and vice versa (as seen in the sample data above)
  • Not all columns are present every time and the order of columns keeps changing, due to this i can't use a text input with header names for dynamic rename as then columns get renamed incorrectly.
  • If I just let dynamic rename tool name the columns on the basis of the first row then the columns with their header name in second row get renamed randomly like (Field_SomeRandomNumber) as they were blank. This random header name keeps changing everytime time i update input file with a new report so it is problematic as i need to use filter/formula tool on some of these columns and since its random and changes every time, i run into issue with target names.

Please suggest a solution.

In the attached workflow. Please look at the "Beginning Debt Check" container. I'm comparing report of 2018 with 2019. So set 1 of report is included in package and the 2nd set (to see how the reports vary) is attached externally.