Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Regex replace cases - translation help

pociechtoa
5 - Atom

Hi everyone

I am quite new to alteryx and I have an existing workflow (built by someone else) which uses regex_replace in a couple of instances. Even though I viewed the Regex 101 and the Regex Coach, I still fail to grasp what the individual characters do and, most importantly, how to fix errors which occur sometimes. 

Long story short, I have a couple of fields which contain city and country for different events (one event can have more than once city and therefore more than one country as well). I am trying to concatenate them to get all the cities together, and all the countries together, the separator used is ;  

The formula used is trim(regex_replace([_CurrentField_],"\b(.+);\s(?=.*\b\1;?)","")) 

Errors which I found: 

1. Mexico City;Panama City 

They get concatenated to MexicoPanama City (so I assume the "City" part of Mexico is omitted as repetitive)

2. cities:  Edinburgh; Fort Lauderdale; Hong Kong; London; New York; San Mateo; Singapore; St. Petersburg; Toronto

countries: Hong Kong; United KingdomSingapore; United States; Canada

As you can see, United Kingdom and Sinapore are missing a space in between. I guess this could be because of different cities from the same country (which I do not want repeated) but I still cannot fathom why it glues together UK and Singapore, and not any of the others. 

Could someone help me translate this to layman's terms? Thank you!

I solemnly swear to analyse the answers and come out of this as a smarter human being. 

8 REPLIES 8
Jean-Balteryx
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hi @pociechtoa ,

Can you share your workflow ?

Ben_H
11 - Bolide

Hi @pociechtoa,