Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Regex parsing help needed with Special Characters "<" and, ">"

sdodero
6 - Meteoroid

Hello Community,

I am new with Alteryx and I am having issue parsing a column that contains the special characters "<"  and ">" among other special characters which I am able to parse so far. However,  I am stuck with these two "<" and ">"

Here's an example of the expression

[data-for-column_A](data-for-column_B)<data-for-column_C>|data-for-column_D

I am using the Parse function with these expressions

Column A: \[(.*)\]

Column B \((.*)\)

Column C \[x60](.*)\[x62]

But so far no luck field for column C comes empty

7 REPLIES 7
Kenda
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hey @sdodero!

This may not be the most efficient way to accomplish what you're looking for, but the below expression worked for me in a Formula tool:

regex_replace(Replace(Replace([Field1], "<", ":"),">",":"),".*:(.*):.*","$1")

Basically, it replaces each of the < and > symbols with colon symbols then uses RegEx to get the data for column c (or, the data within the colons).

Hope this helps!

Claje
14 - Magnetar

Hi,

I think that RegEx only qualifies the < and > characters as metacharacters when they are prefixed with a \.

Therefore, I think the following works for column C

<(.*)>

You should be able to use the following to get a b and c all together

\[(.*)\]\((.*)\)<(.*)>
CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

@Kenda @Claje Nice work!