community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alteryx designer Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer.

Regex_match?

I'm new to Regex and believe I need this function for what I'm trying to do. 

I'm looking to setup a formula (Using IF, Then, and Else function I assume) to search for the last few words in a field/string, then if it finds that word, the output column will provide the "then" portion of the formula. For example: 

IF (Search column to find "Long" in the last few characters in that field/string)

THEN (Show me just the word "Long" in another output column)

ELSE (Would just return a "Null")

I need to do this for finding other words ("Short" and "Net), would I be able to combine or create 3 different formula functions? 

Another caveat is that the word "Short" could appear in a field/string with the last words as "Long" which is why I only need to look at the end of the field/string. 

Inactive User
Not applicable

Answer attached.

ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

I'm going to assume that you have a field (I'm calling it [InputData]) that has the following text:

The long and short of it is that this is the best set of tools you'll find.

If I understand what you're asking, I can think of four ways to use the Formula tool to make a new output field that contains the text you're searching for.

1) Regex_Match

if regex_match([InputData],".*long.*") then 'long' else null() endif

2) Regex_Replace

regex_replace([InputData],".*(long).*","$1")

3) Using "Contains"

if contains([InputData],'long') then 'long' else null() endif

4) Using "Findstring"

if findstring([InputData], 'long') then 'long' else null() endif

All of these options will output to a single field so if you wanted to search for "Short" or "Set" and have those search terms output to new fields, you would need to create additional formulae to run those searches.