Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Regarding dynamic excel Sheet name and dynamic worksheet name

nazuk
8 - Asteroid

Sorry for reposting again! But since i am a beginner to alteryx. I am still facing issue in inputting my file. So basically the scenario is there will be a folder inside which there will be 4 files with different name. So i have to use one file named in the format as TSEQ_DD_MM_HHMM.xls  and there will be just one worksheet inside this xls file with the same name as file name.

So i have to use that file and then have to do some analytics. Now since this sheet name will change daily , as it is generated from some tool, can you again help me with some workflow , how i can code the input method that may  pickup the static keywork TSEQ_ and dynamically chooses that file daily(as the workflow i am preparing will run daily.

Looking forward to hear from you.

6 REPLIES 6
neilgallen
12 - Quasar

your solution is not that uncommon, but there are a few questions that need to be addressed:

You mention inside this folder there are 4 files and you want the one file formatted with TSEQ_* My assumption is that these files are timestamped. Will there be multiple files with the TSEQ prefix in the folder, each with a unique timestamp? If so, do you want all of the files, or just a particular one?

Are they generated as xls or xlsx files? I ask because this changes what you are capable of with sheet names.

Could you post an exmaple of the four files in the folder? 

Jonathan-Sherman
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @nazuk,

I've attached a zip file with all materials I explain below: