Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

RegEx tool with Parse method and OR (|)

brandowd
8 - Asteroid

Hi All,

Ok I admit that I'm no RegEx expert so please forgive my ignorance.

I'm trying to use the tool with the Parse method and the OR (|) operator to find two items in a string where the values could be in different locations but I can't get the thing to work and wondered if anyone knew what I'm missing but also how the tool works in this scenario. The fields I'm trying to get are a name in single quotes and a duration. I know this can be solved by other methods /multiple regex tools but it's the 'why' that is just doing my head in.

Sample text (items in bold=text I'm trying to get):

• Complete 'the wobbly bridge' (Succeeded, Id=123456 Duration=247ms)
    Complete (Succeeded, Id=123456 Duration=247ms) 'the wobbly bridge'
  1. If I use the tool with simple regex of just '(.+)' then I get the wobbly bridge
  2. If I use the tool with regex of just n=(\d+) then I get 247
  3. If I combine these with '(.+)'|n=(\d+) then it I get the following

brandowd_0-1653045994763.png

The expression works fine in https://regex101.com/r/waP9rd/1

From the looks of things it's just finding the first item.

Thank you.

3 REPLIES 3
Kenda
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hi @brandowd 

I'm glad you're getting excited about RegEx and trying to figure out how it works in Alteryx!